The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa cabinet on Wednesday approved time scale promotions for teachers associated with the Elementary & Secondary Education Department (ESED) of the province, paving the way for the promotion of over 55,000 teachers in grade 14 and above.

This would be the first phase of the promotions and the time scale will be awarded to teachers having minimum eight years of service in a certain grade. The decision came during a cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister Pervaiz Khattak on Wednesday that had several ministers the KP chief secretary and other senior officials in attendance. During the course of the meeting, the provincial cabinet approved the re-constitution of Text Book Board after amending its rules to broaden the scope of the board. The board will now also comprise of representatives of ESED and Finance Department to further strengthen its role and widen its ambit.

The cabinet also approved the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Board of Elementary & Secondary Education Bill 2018, as well as the KP Education Monitoring Authority Bill 2018. The passage of the monitoring authority bill will lead to the conversion of the Independent Monitoring Unit into a fully independent and empowered authority.

The KP IMU was established to provide ESED and its development partners with a viable means of ensuring that education sector reforms were efficiently developed and effectively implemented. It also supports the establishment of performance monitoring mechanisms. One its key tasks included collection of data for all key performance indicators and then analyse for the purpose of performance evaluation.

The IMU has been critical in helping the KP government improve school in infrastructure across the province. The provincial government’s claims of investment in the up-gradation of schools and allied facilities has been validated by the latest report from Alif Ailaan that says KP has seen has sen improvements in physical facilities across schools.

The cabinet members also approved a grant of Rs 140 million for Gomal University, Dera Ismail Khan.


Write A Comment