LAHORE: The Caretaker Government of Punjab has established two new search committees for the appointment of 18 Vice Chancellors in public sector universities of Punjab.

Surprisingly the government has set up two different search committees under the supervision of former Executive Director Higher Education Commission (HEC) Dr Sohail Naqvi and senior Educationist Dr Zafar Iqbal Qureshi.

The universities are divided into two categories for the appointment of VCs. The search committee proposed for Category 1 universities will be led by Dr Sohail Naqvi whereas other members include Dr Zafar Iqbal Qureshi, Social Activists and Philanthropist Dr Amjad Saqib, Chairperson Punjab Higher Education Commission (PHEC) Dr Shahid Munir and Secretary Higher Education Department (HED).

This committee will be responsible for appointing Vice Chancellors in BahaudDin Zakariya University Multan, University of Gujrat, Government College University (GCU) Faisalabad, University of the Punjab Lahore, Government College University (GCU) Lahore, University of Education Lahore, University of Sargodha, Islamia University of Bahawalpur.

However, the other search committee for Category 2 universities will be led by Dr Zafar Iqbal Qureshi. Other members include former Chairperson PHEC Dr Nizam ud Din, Dr Amjad Saqib, and Chairman PHEC Dr Shahid Munir. This committee will be responsible for appointing VC in 10 universities including Baba Guru Nanak University Nankana, Kohsar University Murree, Emerson University Multan, Thal University of Bhakkar, University of Kamalia, University of Layyah, University of Jhang, University of Narowal, University of Okara and the University of Sahiwal.

Related: UHS declares MBBS fourth prof result

Write A Comment