The Mustafa Prize International, a symbol of scientific excellence, for the year 2021 has been awarded to Prof Dr Muhammad Iqbal Choudhary of Pakistan in the field of bio-organic chemistry.

The Mustafa Prize – a top science and technology award – is granted biennially to the top researchers and scientists of the Islamic world in four categories: “Life and Medical Science and Technology”, “Nanoscience and Nanotechnology”, “Information and Communication Science and Technology”, and “All areas of science and technology”.

The Mustafa Prize was established in 2012 as a symbol of scientific excellence at the international level, and it is regarded as the Nobel prize of the Muslim world, said a news release. Five scientists each from Pakistan, Iran, Bangladesh, Lebanon and Morocco have been awarded ‘The Mustafa Prize’ in their respective fields of study.

Prof Dr Muhammad Iqbal Choudhary is world-renowned medicinal chemist. He has published 1,175 research papers in the fields of organic and bio-organic chemistry in international journals, 76 books and 40 chapters in books published by major US and European press. He has secured 40 US patents. Dr Iqbal’s work has been cited by researchers from around the world by 27,407 times and his h-index is 70. By now, 94 national and international scholars have completed their PhD degrees under his supervision.

Dr Iqbal is D.Sc., Ph.D., and C. Chem. He has been awarded by different governments of Pakistan with Hilal-e-Imtiaz, Sitara-e-Imtiaz, and Tamgha-e-Imtiaz. He has been elected a fellow by world-renowned science academies named Academy of Sciences for the Developing World, Islamic World Academy of Sciences, Pakistan Academy of Sciences, Royal Society of Chemistry, and Chemical Society of Pakistan.

Prof Iqbal has been honoured by the President of Iran with the Khwarizmi International Award, the President of Azerbaijan with the ECO Award in Education and the Prime Minister of Pakistan with the COMSTECH Award in Chemistry. He has been given the prestigious title of “Distinguished National Professor” by the Higher Education Commission in 2004 and Meritorious Professor by the University of Karachi in 2013.